Ronaldo, Ranieri, Lloyd win Federation Internationale de Football Association awards

American Carli Lloyd was given the Best FIFA Women's Player Award.

Mohd Faiz Subri was named the victor of the FIFA Puskas Award 2016 for an absolute gem of a goal.

Ranieri, who beat Portugal coach Fernando Santos and Real Madrid boss Zinedine Zidane to win the prize, said: "I think what happened in England last season was incredible, something unusual".

Spain's La Liga accounted for nine of the 11 players in the FIFPro team of the year with Ronaldo and Messi headlining a star-studded line-up.

"I'd like to thank my teammates, the whole team at Real Madrid and thank your for everything you've done". I'm so glad to win a lot of trophies, collective and individual. "I'm not going to do the scream, just the motion".

Ronaldo, who led Portugal to the Euro 2016 title as well as winning the Champions League with Real Madrid, beat fellow shortlisted candidates Lionel Messi and Antoine Griezmann to claim the prize.

Ronaldo scored a total of 59 goals for both club and country throughout the 12 months, as his career reached new heights. The other nominees were Iceland fans at Euro 2016, and Dutch club ADO Den Haag, whose fans brought soft toys to children supporting rival team Feyenoord.

Barcelona said Messi was focused on preparing for an upcoming match against Athletic Bilbao.

Ronaldo, however, was more diplomatic, saying: "I understand, he has an important game on Wednesday".

"The world football governing body FIFA terminated its cooperation with French Football magazine for the Ballon d" Or award previous year.

Before the partnership with Federation Internationale de Football Association, the Ballon d'Or was given to the top European player from 1956 from 1994.

At the awards the best coaches in women's and men's football will be named, as well as the best woman in Football.

Once again, Cristiano Ronaldo defeated literally every other soccer player in Federation Internationale de Football Association. Ronaldo, expected to win the Best Men's player honour, Messi and Griezmann emerged as the top three players of the calendar year.

  • Stacy Allen