Brian Dawkins snubbed for Hall of Fame selection

But even Dawkins, who had an up-close-and-personal view of Owens at his worst with the Eagles in 2005, believes the wide receiver deserves to be in Canton.

"You guys have meant so much to me and my family and my career".

Former NFL kicker Morten Andersen, running backs Terrell Davis and LaDainian Tomlinson, defensive end Jason Taylor and quarterback Kurt Warner were the five modern-era candidates selected ahead of Dawkins.

Tomlinson, selected in 2014 as the 11th Horned Frog in the College Football Hall of Fame, earned his TCU degree in August 2005.

Interestingly, former commissioner Paul Tagliabue did not make the cut despite being a contributor candidate, making him the first guy to not get in under that category.

The league will officially announce the five members of the 2017 Hall of Fame class at the NFL Honors ceremony in Houston. It was his second year on the ballot.

On the field, there was no doubt. In NFL history, only Jerry Rice has more receiving yards than Owens, who ranks third in TD receptions and eighth in catches on the league's all-time lists. No more than five modern-era finalists can be elected in a given year, and 80% of the vote is needed for election. He returned to play in the Super Bowl, just seven weeks after undergoing surgery to fix a torn ligament and a fractured lower leg.

The following season, Owens' relationships with quarterback Donovan McNabb and team management soured.

Naturally Owens was upset about being left out and he expressed his feelings on Twitter. Boselli also had a terrific game in the Jacksonville's monumental upset of the Broncos in a 1996-season, second-round playoff game at old Mile High Stadium.

As risky catching the ball (4,772 career yards) as he was running it (13,684), in 2003, LT became the first player to rush for 1,000 yards and catch 100 passes.

But a lack of Super Bowl titles and a career cut short by injuries is what's likely keeping him on the bubble with the Pro Football Hall of Fame selection committee. Lynch likely split the vote with another safety, Brian Dawkins, who also made it into the final 10 but was not selected. "Obviously I had the pleasure of knowing LT and seeing him grow into one of the greatest running backs ever to the play the game".

In those first eight seasons, Tomlinson missed just one game - and he was angry about that.

"I'm disappointed but it's one of those things where if it happens it's OK, if not, life goes on, I've got a lot going on, " said Lynch, who is in his first days as the San Francisco 49ers general manager and has been busy putting together a personnel department and helping new head coach Kyle Shanahan assemble a coaching staff. He earned Pro Bowl honors all four years with the Broncos and nine in total during his National Football League career. Andersen was a seven-time Pro Bowler in his career, but never got the chance to win a Super Bowl.

  • Stacy Allen