Ferguson, Fitzgerald, Patterson make Maxwell watch list

Charlie Ward was the last Seminole to capture either award, when he won the Maxwell Award in 1993.

Memphis' Riley Ferguson, Mississippi State's Nick Fitzgerald, and Ole Miss' Shea Patterson are all on the early list for the award. Smith recorded 1,609 all-purpose yards (12th most in school history in a single season) and scored 17 touchdowns (tied for second in school history in a single season) and tallied 102 points (tied for third most in school history in a single season).

Notre Dame had three players recognized on Monday when the watch lists for the Maxwell Award and the Bednarik Award were announced. "Tiny" Maxwell, has been given to America's College Player of the Year since 1937.

He is the first Jayhawk to be considered for the award, given to the College Defensive Player of the Year, since Ben Heeney in 2014.

Both Blanding and Kiser have previously been named this summer to the 2017 Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List. Ridley has caught at least five passes in 20 of his 30 career games with the Tide and already ranks in the Alabama career top-10 in receptions (161), touchdown receptions (14) and receiving yards (1,814).

The Crete, Ill. native set a career high with 13 tackles and nine solo stops in Notre Dame's season opening loss to Texas.

There are 85 players on the Maxwell Award Watch List, including 34 quarterbacks. A second-team All-Big Ten choice by the coaches and media, the big-play quarterback was the Maxwell Football Club's Brian Westbrook Tri-State Player of the Year.

One of the surest signs that the new college football season is right around the corner is when the various awards begin announcing their preseason watch lists. He also rushed for 139 yards against No. 2 MI on October 29, the most by a player against the Wolverines during the regular season. Overall, Dawson totaled 24 tackles, 3.5 tackles-for-loss and one forced fumble last fall. He now ranks No. 9 all-time in U.Va. history with 358 career tackles.

  • Rogelio Becker