India canters to series deciding win

They briefly had an opportunity to regain top place in India via a 4-1 series win, however defeat in the second ODI quashed that possibility.

Opening batsman Aaron Finch (124 off 125 balls) and David Warner (42 off 44 balls) provided a near-perfect start for the visitors.

Australia's dire start to their Indian tour has left the tourists trailing 2-0, a position from which they have never won a bilateral one-day global series.

Batting at number four, Pandya hit four sixes and five boundaries in his aggressive knock to take India close to victory. He was ably supported by Manish Pandey and the two put up a partnership of 78 runs for the fifth wicket. Three seventies were scored by Hardik Panday, Ajinkya Rahane, and Rohit Sharma.

"Especially when you come over here and play for the first time on the world stage against one of the best one-day teams in the world in their own park, it's very hard and it can be overwhelming".

The shot of the match came in the 45th over when Pandya waited till the very end to just whisk a short one from Marcus Stoinis over 'keeper Peter Handscomb's head just when the ball was crossing his head.

Hardik Pandya for his allround performance was given the Man of the Match award. Matthew Wade's replacement stretched low to his right for an unsuccessful one-handed effort and would have been relieved when the beneficiary, Rohit Sharma, was dismissed soon after for 71.

Rahane hit nine boundaries while scoring 70 runs off 76 balls.

The national selectors have released Ravindra Jadeja, who was called up after left-arm spinner Axar Patel hurt himself ahead of the first ODI in Chennai, from the squad for the last two ODIs.

Virat Kohli-led Team India have been outstanding in the series so far and more than the batsmen, bowlers have stolen all the limelight.

During that slump, Finch batted with the same impatience which he had shown during his unsuccessful start to ODI cricket.

Aaron Finch returned from a calf injury to become the first Australian opener since Shaun Marsh in 2009 to score an ODI century in India. India did not make any changes.

  • Stacy Allen