Pokemon Go Halloween Update

Pokemon Go first added Shiny Magikarp and Shiny Gyarados during last spring's Water Festival, and then added Shiny Pichu, Pikachu, and Raichu over the summer. In addition to being the flawless Halloween costume for Pikachu, the witch's hat is supposed to be an allusion to Mimikyu, an off-kilter version of Pikachu introduced in Pokemon Sun and Pokemon Moon. Pokemon like Gastly, Drowzee, Cubone will be found in greater numbers just like a year ago, and this time they are bringing some third generation pocket monsters like Sableye and Banette to the game for their Pokemon GO debut.

This includes: Shuppet, Duskull and Dusclops, although there could also be a few other surprises being cooked up.

The event is scheduled to start on October 20 at midday PT / 3 PM ET / 8 PM BST (6 AM AET on October 21 in Australia), ending at 1 PM PT on November 2. Your avatar will be able to wear Mimikyu's Disguise Hat, a curious addition as Mimikyu is a recent (but fairly popular) Gen. 7 Ghost Pokemon.

Niantic added that a number of other features are still in the works as there are a number of things that they want to add such as player-versus-player and trading.

You can earn double Candy rewards from catching, hatching, and transferring Pokemon. There will also be a new selection of bundles in the store, containing items like Raid Passes and Super Incubators.

Niantic didn't mention whether a new spooky remix of the Lavender Town soundtrack would be released as a special bonus during the upcoming event.

As we've seen in other recent promotional events, Pokemon Go will have special boxes available in the in-game shop.

It would seem odd to include such things in the game's master code and then not use them.

Ghost-Type Pokemon will be more common during the festivities, and new Generation 3 Pokemon will begin to appear in the wild.

  • Joey Payne