BJP plays it tough in new list

A day after the BJP announced its first list of 70 candidates for the Gujarat Assembly elections, resentment built up in the party here, leading to vocal protests as well as resignations by many, including some senior party members. Results will be declared on December 18. The party repeated Bhushan Bhatt from the Jamalpur-Khadia seat while Jinabhai Dedvariya will contest from Chotila. All Congress turncoats and 15 Patidar leaders have been fielded as well. Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani will contest election from his traditional Rajkot West constituency. These included - Raghavji Patel from Jamnahgar Rural, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Jamnagar North, Ramsinh Parmar from Thasra, Mansinh Chauhan from Balasinor and CK Raulji from Godhra assembly seat.

Alleging that Dalits have been facing "atrocities" under BJP rule, the Dalit leader also said that he was "unhappy" after being told by the party that he will not get a ticket this time, news agency PTI reported.

PM Narendra Modi (left) and BJP President Amit Shah during the BJP Central Election Committee (CEC) meeting for state elections at BJP headquarters in New Delhi.

The list features 25 candidates from various OBCs, a community the party has been wooing to negate any impact of Patidar unrest. "The group led by Nitish Kumar is hereby recognised as the Janata Dal (United)". There are 27 ST reserved and 13 SC reserved seats in the State.

The BJP, that has set a target of winning over 150 seats in the state, is yet to announce names of 112 candidates for the 182-seat Assembly. Kumar has already chose to field around 12 candidates in the tribal belt of Gujarat where the JD (U) has traditionally been strong.

  • Rogelio Becker