BJP on way to big victory in UP civic polls

Yogi Adityanath delivered, making it a three on three for the BJP after its sweep of the 2014 general elections and this year's assembly elections.

"The results show the UP people have accepted our party's ideology and corruption-free governance", he said adding, 'The results are an eye-opener for those making tall claims against BJP govt in Gujarat and elsewhere".

The BJP won 70 out of 198 Nagar Palika Parishad chairman posts and 922 out of 5,261 members, 100 out of 438 Nagar Panchayat chairpersons and 664 out of 5,434 members.

While the BSP candidate snatched the Aligarh mayoral seat, a traditional BJP stronghold, opposition Congress performed poorly again. The complete results of the election will be available on the Uttar Pradesh State Election Commission website.

In 2012, the BJP had bagged 10 out of the 12 mayoral seats in the state. In Majhanpur, BSP's Mehtab Alam won.

In Mathura, the BJP candidate Meera Agarwal won from ward number 56 through lottery system as she and the Congress candidate 874 votes each. Adityanath campaigned through the state along with his ministers to leave no stone unturned to ensure a victory for BJP in his state. Interestingly, it is for the first time that the BSP has contested the urban body polls on the party symbol. Congress had a drubbing as it lost its bastion Amethi, the Lok Sabha constituency of its vice president Rahul Gandhi. They worked for a particular caste and people have discarded them.

"I am going to Gujarat today with a positive message from UP", the deputy CM said. "Across Western UP, we found Muslims voted for SP", said a BJP MP. "The SP is closely analysing the results", he said. Results will be communicated to the candidates through SMS on their registered mobile numbers.

No procession is allowed during the counting and following the announcement of results.

  • Rogelio Becker