Time Magazine names #metoo movement as 2017 Person of the Year

A little while ago, Donald Trump, who Time made Person Of The Year last year, tweeted that Time had offered to grant him the same honor again this year but that he'd have to sit for an interview and a photo shoot.

In the wake of sexual misconduct revelations about Harvey Weinstein, Kevin Spacey and dozens of other prominent men in U.S. politics, media and entertainment, millions of people worldwide have shared their stories about being sexually harassed and assaulted.

Time editor-in-chief Edward Felsenthal revealed the cover on Wednesday morning's Today show, which features Ashley Judd, Taylor Swift, former Uber engineer Susan Fowler and a woman whose face is obscured, meant to represent the women who haven't yet come forward.

The allegations against the disgraced Hollywood producer prompted the #MeToo movement, which encouraged others to share their experiences on social media. People from the magazine disputed Trump's claim, and now we have a new Person Of The Year.

"For giving voice to open secrets, for moving whisper networks onto social networks, for pushing us all to stop accepting the unacceptable, The Silence Breakers are the 2017 Person of the Year", Editor-in-Chief Edward Felsenthan said in a statement.

Included in the Time feature are Harvey Weinstein accusers, including actress Rose McGowan, who has been one of the most outspoken individuals on the topic of sexual harassment.

Mr Trump was a finalist again this year, alongside Amazon chief executive Jeff Bezos, Wonder Woman director Patty Jenkins, former National Football League star Colin Kaepernick, US Special Counsel Robert Mueller, Saudi Arabia's Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman, North Korean leader Kim Jong Un and Chinese President Xi Jinping. It is also not so easy to battle the stigma that victims have to face.

The magazine said its shortlist for the 2017 Person of the Year, meant to recognize the "person or group of people who, for better or worse, wielded the most influence in the previous 12 months", also included North Korean leader Kim Jong Un, China's Xi Jinping and Donald Trump, who was chosen for the distinction last year following his election as USA president.

  • Kyle Peterson