It's easier than ever to take a break from annoying Facebook friends

"It turns out, you're not alone", the company said in a statement.

You then won't see any of their posts for the next 30 days, and more importantly they won't be notified that you put them on snooze.

Facebook is adding in a snooze button to discreetly shut up those annoying "friends" on Facebook for a while.

If there's a friend, group, or Page that you're getting too many posts from in your timeline, you can now tap the three dots near the top right of any of their posts, and choose "Snooze [name] for 30 days". A sexual assault survivor may benefit from temporarily snoozing posts from news organizations they follow as potentially triggering sexual assault coverage continues to dominate the news cycle.

Facebook is calling this new feature "Snooze", and it's one we've heard about before.

Also works with Pages and groups.

The people, pages and groups you hit the snooze button on won't know, and Facebook will notify you when you snooze is about to expire.

"One of our core News Feed values is giving people more control". In fact, Twitter has it since 2014. Well, the social media giant is offering an easy way to keep them out of sight and out of mind.

"Though the causes aren't clear, researchers hypothesize that reading about others online might lead to negative social comparison - and perhaps even more so than offline, since people's posts are often more curated and flattering", they said.

The announcement comes as a parade of former Facebook employees have spoken out against the company and social media in general, and the impact it might have on the well-being of people.

  • Eleanor Harrison