Facebook Facial Recognition Wants to Manage Your Identity

Facebook Facial Recognition Wants to Manage Your Identity

IT

The new Facebook facial recognition feature is created to detect when users appear in other people's photos, even if they're not tagged, and notify them so they can manage the situation.

Privacy experts argue that since Facebook is poised to beef up its facial recognition powers, it should also become more transparent about such decisions. Keep it locked for more from Facebook and give us your thoughts in the comments.

According to Facebook, the facial recognition technology will work by analyzing the pixels in photos the user is already tagged in.

To Facebook's credit, the company plans to implement a meaningful level of control: It has implemented a global on/off switch to avoid facial recognition entirely. The new feature is largely an attempt to curb fake accounts and "catfishing", the act of using someone else's identity in an attempt to mislead others. Stay tuned for much more from Facebook coming soon!

"If you're in a photo and are part of the audience for that post, we'll notify you, even if you haven't been tagged", Candela said in a blog post. You can also make choices such as whether to tag yourself, leave yourself untagged, or reach out to the person who has posted the photo or report it to Facebook. After switching it on, it will recognize your photos on Facebook and will notify you.

Facebook had launched an automatic alt-text tool two years ago, which describes photos to people with vision loss.

Facebook Inc said on Tuesday it would begin using facial recognition technology to tell people on the social network when others upload photos of them, if they agree to let the company keep a facial template on file. Since new facial recognition technology is now being added to devices and applications everywhere - Apple's iPhone X is the flawless example here - it comes as no great surprise that Facebook would be next to incorporate some kind of facial scanning in its own platform.

"Once a person turns off face recognition we delete their template completely", Facebook's spokesperson said.

  • Terrell Bush