Twitter Slams Hardik Pandya For A Golden Duck In The 5th ODI

This is also India's first ODI series win in South Africa after failing to conquer them in the previous tours in 1992, 2006, 2011 and 2013. 30 wickets in 5 games from the duo has been an integral factor in India winning their first-ever bilateral ODI series in the Rainbow Nation.

But Rohit, dropped on 96 by Tabraiz Shamsi, made up for those mental errors as he brought up his first hundred in South Africa with a flick past backward square leg.

In his next over he claimed the wicket of the risky Shreyas Iyer, caught behind by Heinrich Klaasen for 30, leaving India on 240/6 with 5 overs left in their innings.

Earlier during India's inning, despite Rohit's 115, the visitors couldn't take the score to 300 or 300-plus with the middle order failing to pick up the pieces.

Lungi Ngidi's 4-51 helped stifle the tourists towards the end of their innings and South Africa were further emboldened by a 52-run opening stand between Hashim Amla and captain Aiden Markram.

Amla and the last match hero David Miller (36) tried to handle the team and added 62 runs for the fourth wicket but Yuswendra Chahal's spin wrecked Miller's wicket to give India the necessary breakthrough.

South Africa could only manage 201 all out in 42.2 overs in its chase, with Yadav taking 4-57 and Chahal 2-43. The Indian team is 3-1 up in the series and would be hoping that they wrap the series at Port Elizabeth. Rohit Sharma was the "Man of the Match". Rohit's 115 (off 126 balls) carried India to 274 for 7, a total they looked likely to exceed before Lungi Ngidi burst through with four wickets in the last eight overs, including Rohit's. It's also a ground where India have yet to register a win in any of the four India v South Africa one-day internationals in the Friendly City.

From South Africa position, the victory comes as a breath of fresh air in the morning.

FIFTY! Rohit Sharma has scored his 35th ODI fifty as he returns back to form. "I knew I didn't have to change a lot and the runs would come", he said. It turned out to be the turning point of the match as South Africa lost their way after Amla's departure. Sony Ten 1 and Sony Ten 1 HD will provide the coverage live in English commentary.

The teams (from): India: Virat Kohli (Capt.), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, M.S. Dhoni (wk), Ajinkya Rahane, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shreyas Iyer, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur and Axar Patel.

  • Stacy Allen