Assembly Elections: Counting of votes for Tripura, Meghalaya, Nagaland on Saturday

With vote counting just a day away, people in Tripura, Nagaland and Meghalaya have their fingers crossed about the outcome of the assembly elections.

In Tripura, two exit polls have suggested the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) dethroning the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M)-led government that has had an uninterrupted run since 1993.

Polling to Charilam (st) seat in Tripura was postponed till the 12th of next month due to the death of a candidate.

In Meghalaya, the election was countermanded in Williamnagar in the wake of the killing of NCP candidate Jonathone N Sangma in an IED blast, while in Nagaland, Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party Chief Neiphiu Rio was declared elected unopposed from the Northern Angami-II constituency.

The voter-turnout in Tripura was 92 per cent, setting a new record in the electoral history of India.

In Nagaland, over 75 per cent voting was recorded, while in Meghalaya, 67 per cent votes were polled.

Meghalaya had used VVPATs for the first time during this elections. Exit polls predicted for a showdown between the two parties, Exit polls predicted for a showdown between the two parties, with the BJP making significant gains in the state, and Congress being reduced in the 60-member assembly.

In the past, when individual polling agencies have got exit polls for state elections wrong, they have in general done a better job of predicting vote shares.

The party had contested 50 seats in the last assembly polls in 2013 and its candidates forfeited their deposits on 49 seats. Nagaland CEO Abhijit Sinha said adequate security measures have been made in all counting halls.

According to political experts, Tripura - which had earlier witnessed electoral battle between the CPM and the Congress - will be witnessing a fight for power between the saffron party and the Left in the upcoming elections.

A total of 443 candidates have filed their nomination papers for the February 27 assembly elections to the Meghalaya assembly.

The JaanKiBaat-News X exit Poll gives 23-27 seats for the NPP, 13-17 seats for the Congress while the BJP and others are predicted to win 8-12 and 2-6 seats respectively. The Congress has fielded 59 candidates, while the BJP put up nominees in 47 constituencies. As per the JaanKiBaat-NewX exit polls, the BJP-IPFT combine will win 35-45 seats, while the incumbent left font led by the CPI (M) will get 14-23. It has also predicted that the ruling Naga People's Front (NPF) will bag 19-25 seats.

The CVoter exit poll has predicted the ruling Congress suffering some setback with its tally coming down to 13-19 from 29 while the BJP is set to win 4-8 seats and around 16.5 per cent of vote share.

This time around, the Congress tally may come down to 0-4 seats, according to Cvoter survey.

In picture: Nagaland Chief Minister TR Zeliang (right) with Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

  • Eleanor Harrison