Phil Mickelson loses the plot at US Open after putt goes wrong
- Author: Stacy Allen Jun 17, 2018,
Jun 17, 2018, 0:59
His bogey putt from above the hole ran by the cup and was headed down a slope when he ran over and swatted it back toward the hole as the ball was still moving.
Mickelson admitted post-round he hit the ball prematurely deliberately to stop the ball going off the green again, although did that put him a better position?
Why a 2-stroke penalty and not a disqualification?
There was some initial confusion about Mickelson's score, both among Fox's crew and the U.S. Open website, which initially gave Mickelson a nine for the hole.
Mickelson, who was already four over par for the day, badly overhit a putt on the 13th green which looked in danger of rolling off the putting surface.
And just in case you didn't understand, he added the following while speaking to reporters: "If somebody's offended by that, I apologize".
By hitting a moving ball, he breached rule 14-5, and was thus given a two-stroke penalty, taking a 10 on the hole. "It was unusual, no one ever has those thoughts, it just happens".
Mickelson was given a 10 for the par-4 hole.
The greens have been a nightmare for the world's best golfers as only one player is under par and numerous game's biggest names failed to make the cut.
Phil Mickelson of the United States plays a shot during practice rounds prior to THE PLAYERS Championship on the Stadium Course at TPC Sawgrass on May 8, 2018 in Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida.
What's unclear is why Mickelson lost his mind.
Phil Mickelson reacts to a shot from the fescue on the fifth hole during Saturday's third round of the U.S. Open.
Either way, it's a remarkable turnaround from Mickelson's optimism from earlier in the week, when he was hoping to complete the career Grand Slam.
With six runners-up placings on his CV, the US Open clearly owed him one and although he began 10 behind halfway leader Dustin Johnson, hopes were high of a Mickelson charge.