How to Send Self-Destructing Emails on iOS and Android Gmail Apps

How to Send Self-Destructing Emails on iOS and Android Gmail Apps

IT

Confidential Mode touched base with the new Gmail in April this year, and Android and iOS users are at last getting it. Still, it's always nice to see more security features for popular apps like Gmail.

However, the new Gmail feature provides a layer of security now lacking in the standard system and in some other email platforms.

Confidential Mode gives you tight control over the emails you send. Gmail has rolled out its Confidential Mode to the Gmail iOS and Android apps.

A simple update on Google Play or iTunes should help get that one sorted out and you can start using the Confidential Mode on your mobile phone anytime soon.

As every feature has its own share of pros and cons, the Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF), a well-respected organization in the field of digital user privacy, believes that this new mode isn't secure at all. Also, the confidential mode feature isn't now available for G Suite customers. Only the recipient with the authentic passcode will be able to access the contents of the sent email. Google added the feature recently in all Android applications.

Gmail has two built-in dark themes, but you'll need an extension to paint Chrome black. Without it, they can't open the email. With a passcode enabled, recipients of the confidential mode email will have to enter a code that they will receive in an SMS message on their phones.

We will keep you posted once we have an updated per the email scheduling feature and other Gmail news in the coming days.

If they want to turn confidential mode on they should press the button in the top right-hand corner that is shaped like a stack of three bullet points.

It is worth noting once an email is sent any self-destruct date that was chosen can not be altered.

The second option involves sending a passcode to the recipients linked mobile number. With that said, it does disable the recipient's ability to copy, forward, or download attachments.

Using it, a sender can place restrictions on sent messages.

How to use Confidential Mode?

Tap the remove access option at the bottom of the email. Once this is done, the user will see a message that says content expired.

  • Terrell Bush