Mohamed Salah shortlisted in 30-man roster for the Ballon d’Or

Despite Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Luka Modric, who won the Golden Ball in the World Cup, and was also voted as FIFA's best player last month, Griezmann remained adamant that a France global should be given Ballon d'Or.

The 33-year-old forward, who ended his nine-season stay at Real Madrid by moving to Juventus for £99million in the summer, is a five-time victor of the award.

However, the Manchester United man believes he should not win the Ballon d'Or ahead of his worldwide team-mates.

The victor of the Ballon d'Or will be announced in Paris on December 3 by France Football.

The Ballon d'Or is considered the most coveted personal accolade a player can achieve and this year's awards ceremony will take place in Paris on December 3.

Benzema scored 11 times in 32 LaLiga matches as he helped Real Madrid lift the Champions League during an impressive season.

The 25-year-old played a big role in France's World Cup-winning campaign in Russian Federation, scoring in Les Bleus' 4-2 win over Croatia in the final.

Ronaldo and Messi have won the award between them for the last 10 years.

Others are: Edinson Cavani from Uruguay, Paris St Germain; Thibaut Courtois from Belgium, Real Madrid; Cristiano Ronaldo from Portugal, Juventus; Kevin De Bruyne from Belgium, Manchester City.

Liverpool's Brazilian forward Roberto Firmino and Uruguay's rugged defender Diego Godin of Atletico Madrid also got the nod.

France internationals Amandine Henry, Amel Majri and Wendie Renard are joined on the list by Germany's Dzsenifer Marozsan, England's Lucy Bronze, Ada Hegerberg of Norway and Japan defender Saki Kumagai.

In another first, the best under-21 player will receive the Kopa Trophy.

The Spain global, who was named in the FIFA FIFPro World 11 last month, has not been included in the latest group of five nominees for France Football's individual prize.

The Ballon d'Or, which was first won by Englishman Stanley Matthews in 1956, is decided by a ballot of journalists from around the world.

  • Stacy Allen