Recent Match Report - New Zealand vs India 4th ODI 2019

India had already made a decision to rest captain Virat Kohli for the final two matches of the series before it began, installing Rohit Sharma as skipper in his place. He has replaced MS Dhoni who is suffering from a hamstring injury. "He has shown a lot of promise (Gill), he has played here and was the Man of the Series in the U-19 World Cup.Highly rated and we wanted to see what he could offer to the team", stand-in skipper Rohit Sharma at the toss. India have been very efficient on the days of the matches and have exposed every mistake by New Zealand.

If India manage to take a 4-0 lead against the Kane Williamson-led side, it will be their biggest-ever series win across all formats in their 52 years of touring New Zealand.

It's another series victory for India away from home.

Mitchell, who has been in impressive form for the Northern Districts in the domestic Twenty20 Super Smash, continued his good work playing for New Zealand A. He can chip in with a few overs towards the death, providing cushion to Kane Williamson in the bowling department. He should play the rest of the series. Mohammed Shami has been rested and Khaleel Ahmed, the left-arm seamer, gets a game. With a century already in his bag, Sharma has been effective in the ODIs against New Zealand. "So we would like to surely create a situation where we give game time to our reserves", the former first-class cricketer added in a statement. Consistency will be key for Hardik Pandya in the lead up to the World Cup and has got seven ODIs and five T20Is to settle into his rhythm.

Probable XI: Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (wk), Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Khaleel Ahmed, Yuzvendra Chahal.

Let's have a look at the predicted playing XI of both teams.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (captain), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wicket-keeper), Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson, Henry Nicholls, James Neesham, Matt Henry.

  • Stacy Allen