ASU offensive analyst Kevin Mawae selected to Pro Football HOF

The others were cornerbacks Champ Bailey and Ty Law, and safety Johnny Robinson.

In short, Gonzalez had more than his fair share of chances to jam.

"The Falcons honestly made my career", Gonzalez told WSB's Zach Klein. Gonzalez was a six-time All-Pro and a 14-time Pro Bowler during his career.

"I know if Pat were here, the first thing he would have said is, 'How come Gradishar is not in?"

As it turns out, Gonzalez isn't the only one who can get good air.

"It surprised me so much that I literally jumped out of the chair and threw my phone across the room", Mawae said of receiving the call Saturday, according to WFAN's Brian Costello. The previous one to reach on the first ballot was Ken Houston in 1986.

This marks the first time more than two defensive backs have made it in the same class. Mawae spent most of his college career as a tackle before he moved to center; hee eneded up playing right guard his first two seasons in the National Football League before moving back to center, where he would stay for the remainder of his career. "You couldn't write a better script". Law started at cornerback in three Super Bowls for the Patriots, winning all of them.

"When he picked Tom Brady off in the end zone and nearly took it back the entire way, oh man, that was great", Foster said, recalling a 103-yard return against Tom Brady in the 2006 playoffs. Denver did score shortly afterward, though, on the way to the win. The Cowboys won 13 division titles and two Super Bowl crowns. "I would argue that it's time for Pat Bowlen to take his place among the titans of this game". Reed helped Baltimore capture its second Super Bowl during the 2012 season. He led the league in interceptions on three occasions and was named the 2004 NFL Defensive Player of the Year.

Law was a lot like Bailey - a rock at the corner who quarterbacks avoided.

Reed and Law also had stints with the Jets.

"It's surreal to get this honor while my former team is playing", said Law, who will be on hand when the Patriots again play the Rams for the title Sunday. Over the course of his career, Reed made nine Pro Bowl appearances and was named a first-team All Pro five times.

Gonzalez earned the first of six first team selections to the Associated Press All-Pro team.

Tony Boselli has been a finalist three times without being headed to Canton.

To be elected, a finalist must receive a minimum positive vote of 80% during the annual selection meeting, which was held Saturday in Atlanta. "He has waited long enough". Bowlen ceded control of the team to Broncos president Joe Ellis in July 2014, when he announced that he has Alzheimer's disease.

His daughter, Annabel, was at NFL Honors to represent him.

Hall of Famers are chosen by a 48-member committee of media members. He helped create the NFL Scouting Combine as a centralization of the draft's evaluation process.

Brandt also was elected for his role as the NFL's resident draft guru. The Texans became the Chiefs, and the Chiefs became Super Bowl champions.

Robinson spent his entire 11-year career (1960-71) with the Dallas Texans/Kansas City Chiefs franchise.

  • Stacy Allen