Fortnite players can finally merge accounts, but it's complicated

Fortnite players can finally merge accounts, but it's complicated

IT

While "Fortnite" entered the PlayStation Cross-Play beta in September 2018, players who started playing the game on PS4 were blocked from logging into the same account from Nintendo Switch or Xbox One consoles.

Sony has been reluctant to allow gamers on the PlayStation 4 to play Fortnite with others on Xbox One or Nintendo Switch, but gave in to pressure in September a year ago by announcing an open beta, testing cross-platform support. Fortunately for these players, Epic Games has announced that Fortnite account merging is now live, and we have all of the information you need to know in order to merge your accounts covered below.

Here's more from Epic Games, who confirmed in a new statement: "You'll choose two accounts, first a Primary Account that you wish to continue using".

Definitely you can't merge disabled accounts.

If you have a duplicate 3rd party login, like Facebook, on both your Primary and Secondary account, the Secondary login will be unlinked.

Do not forget to think carefully about whether you want to merge your accounts or not.

Be warned, though: A few things won't transfer over from your secondary account. You can unlink it before merging. The transfer process can take up to two weeks, and it's worth noting that your Battle Royale XP progress will not be transferred from your primary to your secondary account.

Is this a feature you've been waiting to use?

Fortnite is available now on PS4, Xbox One, Switch, PC and mobile.

Epic's website now offers the easiest way to merge your accounts.

As for the actual Fortnite account merging, it's an incredibly easy task.

The next steps will be permanent, so make sure you select the correct account.

This whole scenario will take two weeks to migrate the details of the accounts, so need patience, it is all official don't expect the instant outcome.

Epic Games has also confirmed the items that will not be merged, as well as those that can be. "Other Items such as Unreal Marketplace items, Creative Islands, and Save The World account level and progress will not be merged over from your secondary account". Do you at all play Fortnite on a regular basis?

  • Terrell Bush