Home News Etiquette, plans discussed in post-election meeting

Etiquette, plans discussed in post-election meeting

13 3573

The Student Government met on Sunday to discuss some of their upcoming events.

This meeting was more of a tutorial session for new members to the Student Government staff­—though that’s not to say that nothing got done.

At last Sunday’s meeting, the Student Government met and discussed upcoming plans (Photo by James McCourt)

Issues addressed at the meeting included the rules and regulations for Student Government officials, as well as the appropriate way to address issues on the senatorial floor.

Earlier this week in a conversation with Senator Elect Emmanuel Luis Crespo (’15), we spoke of upcoming Student Government events for Drew.  We discussed a possible proposition for increasing the Commons hours from 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. on weekdays.

The quality of the food at the Commons was also discussed. Because Drew was voted 15th worst college food in this year’s Princeton Review, the Student Government will be working hard to better the quality of the food this year.

The Student Government will also be working to gain access to more vegetarian-friendly foods.  Crespo also said to expect “innovating ideas coming up from the freshman class.”

Any students with questions or concerns about the school as a whole will be able to attend the bi-weekly office hours all Student Government senators will hold.  Students may use these meetings to bring up any issues they may have, or to discuss anything that they want to be brought up at the Student Government’s weekly meetings.

Crespo said, “this is vital to increase efficiency and awareness of what issues can be addressed on campus.” New members to Drew’s Student Government senatorial staff include Yanko Polanco Jr (’15), Hetika Shah (’15), Addison Del Mastro (’15), Crespo, and Frank Minio (’15).

These members will be sworn in at a special ceremony that will be held on Sunday at 2:00 p.m.  This will precede their usual 7:00 p.m. weekly meeting. Both meetings will be held in LC 28.